Research Institute and Think Tank

We do economic research so you don’t have to. Using scientific methods and models that are constantly being refined, we help our clients make the right decisions on economic and political issues in a complex world.

Analysis and Monitoring

Labour market

What information do the actors need in order to make future-oriented decisions for the labour market? Our models support politicians, trade unions, associations and companies in their decision-making.

Health care for society

Health

How healthy is a society? The topic of health is of great importance both socially and economically. According to WHO, health is an asset and a source of social and economic stability. Our research work examines the social relevance of health, its influencing factors and the economic importance of the health economy from different perspectives.

Economy, ecology, social – a look at the overall concept

Sustainability

How can dialogues with stakeholders in the sustainability debate be conducted on the basis of solid data? Through our calculations, we make the effects of different scenarios and proposed solutions verifiable and thus contribute to corporate CSR strategies and environmental policy decisions. [BC1] Our analyses consider sustainability as an overall concept with regard to economy, ecology and social impact. The focus is on the supply and value chain analyses of companies, industries and economies.

Analyses in the interplay of politics, society, economy and technology

Social policy

What are the implications of reform proposals on social policy? WifOR examines the interaction of politics, society, economy and technology. To this end, we subject reforms to a cost-benefit analysis or carry out microsimulations.

national economic trade fairs

Value

How does value creation work in companies and industries? How can this be compared? Our value creation analyses measure not only the economic but also the ecological and social dimensions of systems.

Economic and social effects

Digitalisation

What is the best way for industries and companies to deal with the impact of digitalisation? We analyze effects and support by analyzing data on business processes, including recruiting Practices to e-health businesses models. Our analyses and studies allow us to deduce consequences for the labour market, education, health and the healthcare industry.

Making meaning measurable

Innovation, Research & Development

What is the macroeconomic significance of research and development and innovation? Our analyses quantify the economic effects of research and development as well as medical innovations. Especially for research-intensive companies, WifOR has developed a model analogous to the official calculation method of gross domestic product that assesses research and development not as a cost but as an economic value for the national economy.

Data analysis

Sports

How can clubs, leagues and associations use national and international data to create a competitive advantage in the sports industry? Whether increasing the number of spectators, public positioning or strengthening the fan base – our analyses in the sports sector support athletes and clubs on and off the pitch.

Lifelong learning

Education

What kind of education do we need today? Education, health and work are interrelated. WifOR investigates social inequalities and challenges in these fields.

Research products of WifOR

What we do with data

We develop economic models and analyses according to the demands of our clients. This enables us to make recommendations for taking action and to present sound reasoning in discourse with politicians, investors and society.

Social Impact of Medical Innovations

Comprehensive tool for measuring innovation

Health Economics Analyses

Macroeconomic Analyses on Healthcare Economy

Ecological impact analyses

Environmental Footprint along the global Supply Chain

Sustainability Analyses

Comparability by Macroeconomic Aggregates

Innovation indicators

R & D Footprint

Social impact analyses

Effects on reform processes and supply chains

Digital Impact

Analyses on Digitalisation

Economic impact analyses

Economic Footprint

Sports economics analyses

Detailed Data provide advantage in sports.

Analyses on Skilled Workers

Macroeconomic Labor Market Analyses

References

At WifOR, we see research as a catalyst, a signpost and a decision-making aid for our customers and project partners from companies, organisations, associations and the scientific community.

We use solid data and empirical methods to gain valuable insights for our customers worldwide, and thus build an objective basis for sustainable decisions but also impulses for future-oriented action.

Prof. Dr. Dennis A. Ostwald, Founder and Managing Director at WifOR

Facts and figures

21

Countries where WifOR is active

276

Projects so far

115

Published studies and specialist articles

12

Current promotions

Partner in science

Pub­li­ca­ti­ons from ap­p­lied re­se­arch and science

Many WifOR case studies are publically available and afford insight into our work. Inform yourself about our research results and methods with these real-world examples.

Forschungsinstitut und Thinktank

Unsere Expertise ist die angewandte Wirtschaftsforschung. Mit wissenschaftlichen Methoden und laufend weiterentwickelten Modellen helfen wir unseren Kunden, in einer komplexen Welt die richtigen Entscheidungen in wirtschaftlichen und politischen Fragen zu treffen.

Analysen und Monitoring

Arbeitsmarkt

Welche Informationen benötigen die Akteure, um zukunftsgerichtete Entscheidungen für den Arbeitsmarkt zu treffen? Unsere Modelle unterstützen Politik, Gewerkschaften, Verbände und Unternehmen bei der Entscheidungsfindung.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Gesundheitliche Versorgung der Gesellschaft

Gesundheit

Wie gesund ist eine Gesellschaft? Das Thema Gesundheit nimmt sowohl gesellschaftlich wie auch wirtschaftlich einen hohen Stellenwert ein. Gesundheit ist laut WHO ein Aktivposten und eine Quelle sozialer und wirtschaftlicher Stabilität. Unsere Forschungsarbeiten beleuchten die gesellschaftliche Relevanz von Gesundheit, deren Einflussfaktoren, sowie die ökonomische Bedeutung der Gesundheitswirtschaft aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Ökonomie, Ökologie, Soziales – Blick auf das Gesamtkonzept

Nachhaltigkeit

Wie können in der Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte Dialoge mit Stakeholdern auf solider Datenbasis geführt werden? Durch unsere Berechnungen machen wir die Effekte unterschiedlicher Szenarien und Lösungsvorschläge überprüfbar und leisten damit einen Beitrag zu CSR-Strategien von Unternehmen sowie für umweltpolitische Entscheidungen. Unsere Analysen betrachten Nachhaltigkeit als Gesamtkonzept mit Blick auf Ökonomie, Ökologie und Sozialen Impact. Im Fokus stehen Liefer- und Wertschöpfungskettenanalysen von Unternehmen, Branchen und Volkswirtschaften.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Analysen im Zusammenspiel von Politik, Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Technologie

Sozialpolitik

Welche Auswirkungen haben Reformvorschläge zur Sozialpolitik? WifOR untersucht das Zusammenspiel von Politik, Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft sowie Technologie. Dazu unterziehen wir Reformen einer Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse oder stellen Mikrosimulationen an.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Volkswirtschaftliche Größen messen

Wertschöpfung

Wie funktioniert die Wertschöpfung in Unternehmen und Branchen? Wie wird dies vergleichbar? Unsere Wertschöpfungsanalysen messen neben der volkswirtschaftlichen auch die ökologische und soziale Dimension von Systemen.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Wirtschaftliche und gesellschaftliche Effekte

Digitalisierung

Wie gehen Branchen und Unternehmen am besten mit den Auswirkungen der Digitalisierung um? Wir untersuchen Effekte und unterstützen mit Datenanalysen zu unternehmerischen Prozessen, vom Recruiting bis hin zu Fragen über Geschäftsmodelle in Feldern wie E-Health. Unsere Analysen und Studien erlauben, Konsequenzen für den Arbeitsmarkt, für Bildung, Gesundheit und Gesundheitswirtschaft abzuleiten.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Bedeutung messbar machen

Innovation, Forschung & Entwicklung

Welche makroökonomische Bedeutung haben Forschung und Entwicklung sowie Innovationen? Unsere Analysen quantifizieren die volkswirtschaftlichen Effekte von Forschung und Entwicklung sowie von medizinischen Innovationen. Speziell für forschungsintensive Unternehmen entwickelte WifOR analog zur offiziellen Berechnungsmethode des Bruttoinlandsprodukts ein Modell, das Forschung und Entwicklung nicht als Kosten, sondern als ökonomischen Wert für die Volkswirtschaft bewertet.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Wettbewerbsstarke Datenanalysen

Sport

Wie können Sportvereine, Ligen und Verbände Daten national wie international nutzen, um sich einen Wettbewerbsvorteil in der Sport-Branche zu schaffen? Ob Erhöhung der Zuschauerzahlen, öffentliche Positionierung oder Stärkung der Fanbasis – unsere Analysen im Sportsektor unterstützen Sportler und Clubs auf und neben dem Platz.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Lebensbegleitendes Lernen

Bildung

Welche Bildung brauchen wir heute? Bildung, Gesundheit und Arbeit stehen in Zusammenhang. WifOR untersucht gesellschaftliche Ungleichheiten und Herausforderungen in diesen Feldern.

Mehr erfahren zu diesem Thema

Bei­spie­le aus un­se­rer For­schung

WifOR versteht Forschung als Impulsgeber, Wegweiser und Entscheidungshilfe für unsere Kunden und Projektpartner aus Unternehmen, Organisationen, Verbänden und der Wissenschaft. Diese Beispiele geben Einblick in die Bandbreite unserer Methoden und Themen.

Zahlen und Fakten

21

Länder, in denen WifOR aktiv ist

276

Projekt bisher

115

publizierte Studien und Fachbeiträge

12

laufende Promotionen

Wir arbeiten mit folgenden Universitäten zusammen

Ver­öf­fent­li­chun­gen aus an­ge­wand­ter For­schung und Wis­sen­schaft

Viele WifOR-Fallstudien sind veröffentlicht und erlauben einen Einblick in unsere Arbeit. Informieren Sie sich über unsere Forschungsergebnisse und Methoden mit diesen Anwendungsbeispielen.